Beach themed tealight holder tutorial

Hello everyone!
Well, I had a great start to the morning after winning the Docrafts Blog challenge, thanks guys! I’ve had an idea for a tealight holder for a little while at finally I’ve managed to make it. I’ve even decided to have a go at my first tutorial so here goes!!…….

20130510-120931.jpg
This beach themed holder uses an old jam jar and lots of lovely beachy elements from the gorgeous new range from Papermania, “Ahoy There!”.

20130510-121201.jpg
I started off by stamping beach huts onto shrink plastic. I’ve used a black solvent based ink pad for this and then added some colour with Promarkers. I cut them out the shrunk them using a heat gun, they twist and turn and go a bit crazy but finally settle flat and you end up with cute, tiny beach huts!

20130510-121441.jpg
I used Anita’s pva glue to stick sand along the bottom of the jam jar and painted a blue sky using glass paint.The jam jar lid has been painted white and covered with a circle of paper. This has pva glue painted over it to seal it and I carefully punched holes in it with an eyelet punch.

20130510-121801.jpg
I got my trusty glue gun out to fix the beach huts to the jam jar, it’s brilliant for instantly sticking things and it sticks them solid so you have no worries about them falling off. I also added some shells from my local beach and some gems.

20130510-121955.jpg
I twisted some raffia and twine to make a handle. I threaded this through the holes in the lid and tied the ends, adding a blob of glue for extra security.

20130510-122141.jpg
To finish off I’ve added a little bow on top of the lid, a wrap of raffia and tied a inked card sentiment to the handle. For safety reasons I’ve used a battery operated tealight, popped it in, popped the lid back on and there you go, a summery, beachy tealight holder. Why don’t you have a go at making one this weekend?
I’ve decided to enter this into the following challenge http://lejdesignschallengeblog.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/lej-designs-challenge-no-60-recycle.html
Happy Krafting!
S xx

6 thoughts on “Beach themed tealight holder tutorial

Leave a Reply

